Uttar Hamara logo



 March 22, 2016

The Yash Bharti Award is one of the highest state-level awards conferred for excellence in literature, fine arts, classical music, folk music and sports. The awards were instituted in 1994 by Mulayam Singh Yadav to honour achievers in different fields. Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav felicitated 46 eminent personalities with the Yash Bharti Award during a function organized at the Ram Manohar Lohia Law University on Monday, March 21.

“We have revived these awards as we believe in honouring people who have made a mark in their respective fields and brought recognition to the state and the country,” said the CM. Recipients of the Yash Bharti were given a cash award of Rs 11 lakh along with a citation and a shawl.

Anita C Meshram, secretary culture said here on Sunday that the recipients of the Yash Bharti awards include Prof Irfan Habib(education), Dr Naresh Trehan (health), Ustad Gulam Mustafa(singer), Sudhir Mishra(film director), Vishal Bhardwaz(film production and direction and music director), Anurag Kashyap (Film direction), Ashok Chakradhar (literature), Surabhi Ranjan(singing), Arunima Sinha and Aparna Kumar(mountaineering), Dr Ravikant(medical), Ustad Gulshan Bharti(singing), Dr Prabhakar(medical), Hemant Sharma (journalism), Raju Srivastava(stand-up comedian), Rudra Pratap Singh(cricket), Anwar Ahmed (literature), Seema Punia (athletics) and Jagvir Singh(hockey).

Other recipients of the Yash Bharti award include Dr Nahid Abdi(literature), SK Singh(boating), Kamla Srivastav(folk song), Shyam Gupta(sports), Dr Sunil Jogi (Literature), Sunil Kumar Rana(sports), Prof Girija Shankar(literature), Vijay Singh Chauhan(athletics), Gopal Chaturvedi(literature), Anuj Chowdhary (sports), Nawaz Deobandi(education), Wazir Ahmed Khan(chess), Chakresh Kumar(handicraft), Narendra Singh Rana(power lifting), Iqbal Ahmed Siddiqui (gazal singer), Kumkum Adarsh(kathak dance).

While acknowledging the individuals’ contribution, these awards would act as motivation for others to strive and excel, said Akhilesh, adding that not only the number of recipients had gone up from 34 in 2014-15 to 46 this year, the prize money had also been increased from Rs 5 lakh to Rs 11 lakh.

Addressing the awardees, Akhilesh said, “As these awards are given to generate social awareness in the society, I consider each of the recipients ‘real’ ambassadors of Uttar Pradesh, representing the state across the globe.”

Uttar Hamara congratulates all the awardees and Uttar Pradesh government for this great initiative.

Uttar Hamara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Uttar Hamara

Uttar Hamara

Uttar Hamara, a place where we share latest news, engaging stories, and everything that creates ‘views’. Read along with us as we discover ‘Uttar Hamara’

Related news